You are here
General Awareness 

General Awareness: Important Awards in India

The Indian Honour System is primarily recognized by the Indian Government. The Indian honour system is broadly classified into five types : Leadership, Literature, Civilian, Patriotic, and Particular.

Leadership awards

  • Gandhi Peace Prize awards
  • Indira Gandhi Prize

Literature awards

  • Sahitya Akademi Award
  • Sahitya Akademi Fellowship
  • Bhasha Samman
  • Translation Awards
  • Anand Coomarswamy Fellowships
  • Premchand Fellowship

Civilian awards

  • Bharat Ratna
  • Padma awards
  • Inspired Teacher Awards

Patriotic Awards

  • Wartime gallantry awards : such as Param Vir Chakra , Maha Vir Chakra, Vir Chakra  is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.
  • Peacetime gallantry awards such as Ashok Chakra Award,  Kirti Chakra, Shaurya Chakra  An Indian military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield.
  • Wartime/Peacetime service and gallantry awards such as Sena Medal, Nao Sena Medal, Vayusena Medal
  • Wartime Distinguished Service such as Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal, Uttam Yudh Seva Medal, Yudh Seva Medal
  • Peacetime Distinguished Service such as Param Vishisht Seva Medal, Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, Vishisht Seva Medal
  • National sports awards such as Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Dronacharya award, Arjuna award, Dhyan Chand Award


Police awards

Bravery awards

  • National Bravery Award such as Bharat Award, Sanjay Chopra Award, Geeta Chopra Award
  • Jeevan Raksha Padak Series of Awards such as Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak, Uttam Jeevan Raksha Padak, Jeevan Raksha Padak

Related Post

Related posts

Leave a Comment