You are here

List of Chief Guests of Republic Day Celebration

The Republic Day is celebrated to remember the transition of India into a republic nation and the implementation of the Constitution of India on January 26th, 1950. A grand event is organized in the capital of New Delhi, wherein the President hoists and unfurls the Indian flag, which is followed by a massive parade. India welcomes a different chief guest every year to witness its Republic Day
celebrations. The honorable chief guest is the head of state or government of another country. The guest is chosen on the basis of certain factors, be it, strategic, diplomatic, business interest or international geo-politics.

It’s an old tradition at Republic Day Parade to invite a Prime Minister of another country showcasing our culture and traditions. In this year, India welcomes the crown prince of Abu Dhabi, Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan , as a chief guest at the 68th Indian Republic Day 2017.

Following is the list of all Chief guest invited to attend Republic Day Parade of India (26th January) since 1950 to 2017:

Chief Guests Invited in Indian Republic Day Celebrations

Year  Guest Name Country
2017  Crown Prince, Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan Abu Dhabi
2016  President, Francois Hollande

 (5th invitation)

2015  President, Barack Obama

 (First U.S. President to be invited)

2014  Prime Minister, Shinzo Abe Japan
2013  King, Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck

 (4th invitation)

2012  Prime minister, Yingluck Shinawatra Thailand
2011  President, Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono

 (2nd invitation)

2010  President, Lee Myung Bak Republic of Korea
2009  President, Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
2008  President, Nicolas Sarkozy France
2007  President, Vladimir Putin

 (3rd invitation)

2006  King, Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud Saudi Arabia
2005  King, Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
2004  President, Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil
2003  President, Mohammed Khatami Iran
2002  President, Cassam Uteem

 (3rd invitation)

2001  President, Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
2000  President, Olusegun Obasanjo

 (2nd invitation)

1999  King, Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev

 (2nd invitation)

1998  President, Jacques Chirac France
1997  Prime Minister, Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
1996  President, Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
1995  President, Nelson Mandela South Africa
1994  Prime Minister, Goh Chok Tong Singapore
1993  Prime Minister, John Major

 (2nd invitation)

United Kingdom
1992  President, Mário Soares Portugal
1991  President, Maumoon Abdul Gayoom Maldives
1990  Prime Minister, Anerood Jugnauth Mauritius
1989 General Secretary, Nguyen Van Linh Vietnam
1988  President, Junius Jayewardene Sri Lanka
1987  President, Alan Garcia Peru
1986  Prime Minister, Andreas Papandreou Greece
1985  President, Raúl Alfonsín Argentina
1984  King, Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
1983  President, Shehu Shagari Nigeria
1982  King, Juan Carlos I Spain
1981  President, Jose Lopez Portillo Mexico
1980  President, Valéry Giscard d’Estaing France
1979  Prime Minister, Malcolm Fraser Australia
1978  President, Patrick Hillery Ireland
1977  First Secretary, Edward Gierek Poland
1976  Prime Minister, Jacques Chirac France
1975  President, Kenneth Kaunda Zambia
1974  President, Josip Broz Tito

 (2nd invitation)

 Prime Minister, Sirimavo Ratwatte Dias Bandaranaike Sri Lanka
1973  President, Mobutu Sese Seko Zaire
1972  Prime Minister, Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Mauritius
1971  President, Julius Nyerere Tanzania
1969  Prime Minister, Todor Zhivkov Bulgaria
1968  Prime Minister, Alexei Kosygin

 (2nd invitation)

Soviet Union
 President, Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia
1965  Food and Agriculture Minister, Rana Abdul Hamid

 (2nd invitation)

1963  King, Norodom Sihanouk Cambodia
1961  Queen, Elizabeth II United Kingdom
1960  President, Kliment Voroshilov Soviet Union
1958  Marshall Ye Jianying People’s Republic of China
1955  Governor General, Malik Ghulam Muhammad

 (First guest for parade at Rajpath)

1954            King, Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Bhutan
1950   President, Sukarno Indonesia

Related Post

Related posts

Leave a Comment